College Days…Swiftly Pass

I came to Bethune Cookman University with a few goals in mind, some superficial and some pretty useful. I knew I was gonna come down here and “stunt on these niggas and pull some of these hoes” though.download  I got down here, bright eyed, bushy tailed and really ready for whatever. I was convinced this was going to be the best 4 years of my life and nothing was going to stop me from reaching my potential. The fact that I was attending an HBCU, one founded by a woman with $1.50 and dream, was something to be proud of. I fell in love with scenery, I fell in love with the history, I met some of best friends here and shared some of greatest laughs. Im not going to say that my time here has been all smiles and sunshine, shit I spent some days contemplating dropping out and selling dope. There were days when I thought I’d make a better pimp and womanizer than radio DJ, there were also days where I swore college was the last thing I should be doing when people were making millions on social media. I had to grow out of the perception that college was solely for academic endeavors and decided to use my time here as way to network and make connections. I really just decided to have fun because I can get these years back. School has always been relatively easy to me, I never really stressed about it but college opened my eyes to what the “real world” might be like. College taught me that everything based on how well you do in you classes or how high you score on final exams. College was an indicator that your strengths and weakness define way more than your GPA. College  let me know that nobody really gives a fuck where you come from or what you have going on, people have their own issues and hangups and don’t care whether or not you have something going on. College has been one of the greatest experiences of my life and Im thankful for every moment Ive spent here at Bethune Cookman

Leave a Reply

